My husband

Since Valentine’s Day is tomorrow and the totally made up Hallmark holiday is intended to make you remember the loved ones in your life, I thought I would share some of my thoughts about my husband.

I remember the first time I saw him, and that is a major feat for me since i have such a horrible memory as it is. It was during my junior year of high school in 1996. We had horsemanship classes at the community college together. My sister and I went together, and happened to meet two guys from Bucklin. I don’t think we officially started dating until later that summer, but we ended up as high school sweethearts and then after our freshman years of college, he broke my heart.

Bucklin Prom, 1997.

But it wasn’t permanent, we were on again, off again, and on again until shortly after I graduated from Oklahoma State. We both had a lot of growing up to do. I broke his heart and we somehow managed to figure things out. Back together for good in 2002 we started living together. It wasn’t the best thing in some peoples eyes, but it was what we had to do to be together since I was living in Oklahoma and he was still in Kansas. The first year we co-habitated was difficult I will admit, as was the second. But we stuck it out. In 2009 we decided it was time to get married after seven years of living together. The most common reaction we got, “It’s about dang time!”

A change in location and job brought us back to the area and more changes came and went. Our little family now numbers three people, five horses and three dogs. And now often times we get so bogged down in the routine and challenges of life/marriage/family that we often fail to express our appreciation to one another. So, here’s my list of appreciation to my husband.

1. Hard worker. I have no doubt my husband will provide for us. He doesn’t like to sit idle, and always has an idea for future projects. However, this often leads to less time spent together, but I guess in the end it is worth it.

2. He’s a planner. He’s always thinking about how to improve areas of the home place. Whether it be tacking on that missing tin on the falling down shed or deciding where to put horse pens or how to make it so the driveway doesn’t flood and we don’t track mud in the house.

3. Level headed. He’s the one who doesn’t get mad quickly or hold a grudge. He can bring me down from the threshold of anger that very few people can. He doesn’t stay mad very long (often times this makes me madder, but I have learned how to pick my battles).

4. Humor. He’s got a sense of humor that is all his own, and has his own way to make me laugh.

5. Unconditional love. Even when I’m at my worst and not the most pleasant person to be around, he’s still there. And that I’m truly thankful for. It’s amazing he’s put up with all my crap for this many years.

Our little family, Christmas 2011.

3 thoughts on “My husband

Leave a comment